This year’s scholarship contest deadline has passed and our contest is closed. Please check back in the Fall for the 2024 National Theme for our 2024 Education Scholarship.

The Crawford County Conservation District offers an annual Education Scholarship to a Crawford County high school student (11th and 12th grade). This essay contest gives a young person from our county the opportunity to win a one-time award of $500 towards their college expenses. Our Crawford County winner will be submitted to the West Central Area (WCA) Contest where they can also win another one-time award of $500! If they win the WCA contest they will be automatically entered into the Arkansas Association of Conservation Districts (AACD) State Scholarship Contest which is an opportunity to win a one-time award of $1000 for 1st place and a one-time award of $500 for 2nd place.

The National Association of Conservation Districts 2023 Scholarship Theme is “One Water”

2022-2023 Theme & Criteria:

1) Define the benefits of healthy watersheds. Identify the many ways that healthy watersheds affect the quality of life for people. Discuss the beneficial roles of watersheds in healthy condition which can be surprisingly far-reaching and enhance ecosystems, economic benefits, and benefits to the landscape.

2) Give an overview of activities that can be implemented by landowners, farmers, organizations, and others to enhance and improve their water usage and management.

3) How the conservation district can help landowners address the resource concern that results from the lack of water resources management; conservation practices (talk with NRCS Staff if needed)

4) Provide an actual example of a landowner/organization who has been helped by the conservation district (May use photos & videos and district will help locate landowners, if needed)

2022 Scholarship Winner

Our 2022 District & West Central Area Scholarship Winner is Shelbey McCoy from Van Buren.

2021 Scholarship Winner

Our 2021 District, West Central Area & Arkansas Association Conservation Districts State Scholarship Winner was Audrey Dahlem from Van Buren.

2020 Scholarship Winner

Our 2020 District & West Central Area Scholarship Winner
was Maddie Templeton from Van Buren.

2019 Scholarship Winners

Our 2019 District Scholarship Winners were Harlie Hightower and Halea Carter from Cedarville pictured with Crawford County Conservation District Board Member DeWite DeShazo.